

## ANNA MIKUSHEVA RECIPIENT OF THE 2012 ELAINE BENNETT RESEARCH PRIZE

Anna Mikusheva, the Castle-Krob Associate Professor of Economics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, is the recipient of the 2012 Elaine Bennett Research Prize. The Elaine Bennett Research Prize was established in 1998 to recognize and honor outstanding research in any field of economics by a woman at the beginning of her career. Initially, her prize will be recognized at annual business luncheon of the American Economic Association Committee on the Status of Women in the Economics Profession (CSWEP) at the 2013 American Economic Association meetings in San Diego; Professor Mikusheva will formally accept the Prize at the 2014 meetings in Philadelphia.

Professor Mikusheva is recognized for her important contributions to econometric theory. Her research, which combines a powerful command of econometric theory with a keen interest in developing tools that will be useful for tackling problems in applied econometric practice, has advanced econometric inference in two important areas. The first provides solutions to the challenging problem of forming accurate confidence intervals for a broad class of time series models used in applied macroeconomic research, in which data are generated by a stochastic process with persistent (unit root) shocks. Her second body of work, addressing inference in weakly-identified models, has provided new tools for hypothesis testing in this increasingly-important class of econometric models. She has applied these to analyze parameter estimates from dynamic

stochastic general equilibrium (DSGE) models, which are widely used to design and evaluate macroeconomic policy.

Professor Mikusheva holds a PhD in Economics from Harvard University and a PhD in Probability and Statistics from Moscow State University. In addition to her research accomplishments, Professor Mikusheva is an outstanding educator, and has been recognized as the MIT Economics Department Graduate Teacher of the Year.

The Elaine Bennett Research Prize is given in memory of Elaine Bennett, who made significant contributions to economic theory and experimental economics during her short professional career, and who mentored many women economists at the start of their careers. Previous winners of this prize (with current affiliations) are Erica Field (Duke University), Amy Finkelstein (MIT), Monika Piazzesi (Stanford University), Marianne Bertrand (University of Chicago), Esther Duflo (MIT), Susan Athey (Harvard University) and Judith Chevalier (Yale University).

CSWEP is a subcommittee of the American Economics Association (AEA) charged with addressing the status of women in the economics profession. It directs mentoring activities for women at the beginning of their careers, organizes sessions at the annual meetings of the AEA and the regional economics associations, publishes a triennial newsletter, monitors the progress of women within the profession, and reports annually to the AEA on the status of women in economics. CSWEP associates are women and men in the diverse areas of the profession – in academe, government and business.

For further information, please contact: Marjorie McElroy, Chair of CSWEP (<a href="mailto:cswep@econ.duke.edu">cswep@econ.duke.edu</a> ) or visit CSWEP's website (<a href="mailto:www.cswep.org">www.cswep.org</a> ).