The American Economic Association 2024 Spring Award Recipients

John Bates Clark Medal



Philipp Strack
Yale University

One of the most prestigious and eagerly anticipated AEA awards, the John Bates Clark Medal is awarded annually each April (formerly biennially from 1947–2009) to that American economist under the age of forty who is judged to have made the most significant contribution to economic thought and knowledge.

Distinguished Fellows

The **Distinguished Fellow** award recognizes the lifetime research contributions of outstanding economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year.



Susan Athey Stanford University



William A. Darity, Jr. Duke University



Bronwyn H. Hall University of California Berkeley



John Haltiwanger
University of
Maryland



Margaret C. Simms Urban Institute

Foreign Honorary Members

The **Foreign Honorary Members** award is presented to economists of distinction. Honorees are selected by the AEA Executive Committee based upon the recommendations from the Honors and Awards Committee.



Michihiro Kandori University of Tokyo



Jean-Charles Rochet
Toulouse
School of Economics



Hyun Song Shin Bank for International Settlements



Silvana Tenreyro
London School of
Economics

